Track and Field

Ryan Hahn - Head Coach

WFHS Girls' Track & Field Records
WFHS Boys' Track & Field Records

Another incredible season has come to a close.

The West Franklin High School Track & Field Team threw their final throws, jumped their final jumps, and ran their final races on Friday at the KSHSAA State Track & Field Championships. They did so among the best in Class 3A, and despite this being the first state meet for a majority of the team, they showed that they belonged there, and many will look to return next season.

Two Falcons earned All-State honors. After a 9th place finish in the triple jump, Cade Fischer returned to claim an 8th place medal in the high jump, wrapping up a great career at West Franklin. In her first race at Wichita State’s Cessna Stadium, Emma Bailey battled to a 6th place finish in the 3200m, with a improvement of nearly 30 seconds. Freshman Hope Crabtree and Katie Cameron also had notable performances. They are the second fastest freshman in 3A state for their respective events, the 300m hurdles and 800m.

Each athlete competed very well. The crowd at such a major meet can be intimidating, but they held it together and gave their best efforts, making for some pretty proud coaches and fans. And through it all, they supported each other, showing the true strength of this team.

A shout-out to the parents, teammates, and fans who made the trip to this and the other meets this season. Your support has been essential, adding much more meaning to this season than any small group of coaches can do. You are very much appreciated.

(Top 8 medal and earn All-State Honors)


Emma Bailey - 3200m (6th, 12:21.11, All-State), 1600m (11th, 5:45.69), Pole Vault (14th, 8-00)

Jenna Walters - Shot Put (14th, 31-06.75)

Hannah Voth - Long Jump (12th, 14-07)

Nevaeh Jordan - 200m (15th, 27.98)

Hope Crabtree - 300m Hurdles (13th, 49.67)

Katie Cameron - 800m (14th, 2:38.68)

4x400 (14th, 4:21.73) - Cameron, Crabtree, Bailey, Judd


Cade Fischer - High Jump (8th, 6-02, All-State), Triple Jump (9th, 40-11.75)

Kyle Haner - 3200m (14th, 10:51.68)

Ethan Hafield - 1600m (11th, 4:48.05)